ISAF Sailor of the Year

The 2011 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards to honor the best sailing talent in the world were presented Tuesday (Nov. 8) evening during the ISAF Annual Meeting this week in Puerto Rico.

This year there were four female and five male nominees who have been shortlisted for the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year award based on their achievements during the qualifying period of 1 September 2010 to 31 August 2011.

The 2011 nominees were:

Dee Caffari (GBR) – Record Breaking Round The World Yachtswoman
Sarah-Quita Offringa (ARU) – Double Professional Windsurfing World Champion
Alexandra Rickham (GBR) – ISAF Sailing World Cup & IFDS World Champion
Anna Tunnicliffe (USA) – ISAF Sailing World Cup Champion

Ben Ainslie (GBR) – ISAF Sailing World Cup & Match Racing World Champion
Lorenzo Bressani (ITA) – Melges 24 & 32 World Champion
Rob Douglas (USA) – Outright World Speed Record Holder
Iker Martinez & Xabier Fernandez (ESP) – Open 60 & 49er success
Nathan Outteridge (AUS) – International Moth World Champion

The winners were announced as Scuttlebutt went to press. Congrats to Anna Tunnicliffe (USA) and Iker Martinez & Xabier Fernandez (ESP), winners of the 2011 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards:

Scroll to top